T20 World Cup Most Valuable Team

Upstox T20 World Cup Most Valuable Team: Pick your team of the tournament

As we head to the business end of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, the ICC has launched the Upstox Most Valuable Team, where you have the chance to pick your tournament best XI.

From the fireworks of Jos Buttler, to the fearsome fast bowling of Anrich Nortje and the all-round talents of Wanindu Hasaranga, fans have been treated to an exhibition of international cricket at this year’s tournament in UAE and Oman.

With all of that individual achievement though comes a challenge for fans around the world – who makes your Most Valuable Team?  

With a minimum of four batters, three bowlers, an all-rounder and a wicket-keeper required, finding balance is paramount.

Five batters, two all-rounders, a wicket-keeper and three bowlers could be the way to go, or adding a bowler at the expense of a batter or all-rounder might suit you better.

No matter the make-up of the side, there is no shortage of options. We’ve given you a shortlist of 50 players to consider, all making a case for their inclusion in your side. With plenty of action still to come in the tournament, this list will grow.

Head here to select your Most Valuable Team and share it with your friends before the end of the tournament! 


Batters Shortlist

Pathum Nissanka – Sri Lanka
Mahmud Ullah – Bangladesh
Charith Asalanka – Sri Lanka
Babar Azam – Pakistan
Max O’Dowd – Netherlands
Aiden Markram – South Africa
Asif Ali – Pakistan
Jatinder Singh – Oman
Najibullah Zadran – Afghanistan
Marcus Stoinis – Australia
Bhanuka Rajapaksa – Sri Lanka
Mushfiqur Rahim – Bangladesh
Mohammad Naim – Bangladesh
Kane Williamson – New Zealand
Eoin Morgan – England
Aaron Finch – Australia
Gerhard Erasmus – Namibia
Jason Roy – England
Richie Berrington – Scotland
Martin Guptill – New Zealand

Bowlers Shortlist

Josh Davey – Scotland
Maheesh Theekshana – Sri Lanka
Lahiru Kumara – Sri Lanka
Mustafizur Rahman – Bangladesh
Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
Tymal Mills – England
Jan Frylinck – Namibia
Mujeeb Ur Rahman – Afghanistan
Haris Rauf – Pakistan
Anrich Nortje – South Africa
Adam Zampa – Australia
Shaheen Afridi – Pakistan
Adil Rashid – England
Mahedi Hasan – Bangladesh
Tabraiz Shamsi – South Africa
Ish Sodhi – New Zealand
Trent Boult – New Zealand
Mark Watt – Scotland
Chris Jordan – England

All-rounders Shortlist

Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka
David Wiese – Namibia
Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh
Ravindra Jadeja – India
Moeen Ali – England
Dwaine Pretorius – South Africa

Wicket-keepers Shortlist

Jos Buttler – England
Mohammad Rizwan – Pakistan
Mohammad Shahzad – Afghanistan
Matthew Cross – Scotland
Kiplin Doriga – Papua New Guinea


What do you think?

Written by admin